Posted by: aprilcatherine2011 | June 16, 2011

The fine song for singing, the rare song to hear

Welcome to my blog.  I’m a singer, storyteller, writer and occasional historian as well.  I’ve started this blog because I’m working on a soon-to-be-released CD, Buckskin Heroes, featuring songs and poems from America’s history of naval warfare.  In the next few days, I’ll start posting the lyrics for all tracks on the CD, including my sources and notes on the songs.  There’ll also be regular updates on my performances, public appearances, and work in public history, plus photos and illustrations of what fascinates me.

A little about myself: I’m a history major, delighted to be working in my favorite field, public history.  During 2011, I’ll be working as an interpreter at Hancock Shaker Village, in Pittsfield, MA.  I graduated from UMass Amherst in 2011 with a degree in history.  My bio on the cover of Buckskin Heroes says it best:

For as long as I can remember, I have enjoyed singing songs, telling stories and reciting poems.  I sing New England and Old World ballads, comedy songs, nineteenth-century parlor and stage music, and songs of war, peace, and good company.  To date, I have performed in venues as diverse as the Mystic Seaport Sea Music Festival, Historic Deerfield, the Glenfarg Folk Club in Scotland, Storrowton Village of West Springfield, MA, and Chester on Track, the historic railway celebration of Chester, MA.  I majored in history at UMass Amherst.  My one-woman show, “The Soldiers’ Muse,” gives the audience a whirlwind tour of soldiers’ songs and poems of the Civil War.

I’m also a poet and songwriter, with a good number of original ballads and filksongs under my belt.  When I start performing one of my own songs, I’ll post the lyrics here so people can learn them.

I also perform with singer and pianist Faye Ringel as a duo called the Midnight Belles, bringing supernatural horror, gorgeous harmony, and Gothic poetry to audiences all over New England in riveting live performances.  Watch this space for more on our adventures!

Responses

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

